Home Page

Awards and assemblies

Milby provides a daily act of collective worship (assembly) for pupils.  This is required by the Education Reform Act 1988:


  • The nature of this collective worship on most occasions during a term will be mainly of a broadly Christian character although not distinctive of any particular denomination.
  • Parents have the right to withdraw their child from collective worship if they wish to do so (Education Reform Act 1988). 


Friday's assembly is our celebration assembly when we celebrate children’s achievements at school!  Friends and family are always welcome to come along and join us on this special occasion.  Celebration assemblies take place at the end of the day on Fridays:


Foundation and key stage one — 2.40 to 3.10pm in the East Hall (Star Awards)

Key stage two                              — 2.45 to 3.15pm in the West Hall (Merit Awards)


At the end of each term we hold special awards that recognise academic achievement or effort and attitude.  We send out details of who will be receiving an award in our newsletters.


At the end of the academic year, we present our Annual Awards.  Children are nominated by their teachers for an award in a range of subjects.  The winners are announced and presented with their award at the ceremony.  Whilst we keep the winners a secret (so it is a surprise for the children!), we always let you know if your child has won so you can arrange to be there.  Below is a list of last year's winners: