School Logo

Welcome to Milby Primary School

Inspire - Learn - Succeed

Google Translate

PSHE and relationship, health and sex education

Protective Behaviours programme


At Milby Primary School, we follow the Warwickshire schools’ Protective Behaviours programme, which forms part of our PSHE curriculum.


Protective Behaviours is a practical and down to earth approach to personal safety.  The aim of the programme is to teach our children about how to feel safe, how to talk about their feelings and how to recognise safe and unsafe feelings.  This helps children to feel safe to have an adventurous approach to life that satisfies their desire for fun and excitement without living in fear.  Protective Behaviours helps children to recognise and trust their intuitive feelings – early warning signs – and to support them in developing a range of strategies for self-protection.


The programme focuses on two key themes:

  • We all have a right to feel safe all of the time; and
  • We can talk with someone about anything, even if it feels awful or small.


The sessions are specifically tailored to meet the needs of the different year groups, from Foundation Stage to Year 6, and usually take place over a four-week block.  Please take some time to explore the resources below that give an overview of the scheme, and provide you with practical advice to help keep your child safe.  If you have any questions or queries, please speak to your child's class teacher who will be happy to tell you more about the programme.

PSHE and RSE programme


Kapow Primary is the programme that Milby Primary School follows for our PSHE lessons.  The scheme aims to give children the knowledge, skills, and attitudes that they need to effectively navigate the complexities of life in the 21st Century.  The curriculum covers key areas which will support children to make informed choices now and in the future around their health, safety, wellbeing, relationships, and financial matters and will support them in becoming confident individuals and active members of society.

The Kapow primary scheme is a whole school approach that consists of three areas of learning in EYFS: foundation stage (to match the EYFS personal, social and emotional development prime area) and five areas of learning across key stages 1 and 2.

● Self-regulation
● Building relationships
● Managing self


Key stages 1 and 2:
● Families and relationships
● Health and wellbeing
● Citizenship
● Economic wellbeing
● Safety and the changing body

Each area is revisited to allow children to build on prior learning.  The lessons also provide a progressive programme.

Kapow PSHE and RSE overview

PSHE curriculum map

Kapow progression of knowledge and skills

Kapow RSE guidance for parents and carers

RSE presentation for parents

Online safety